Black Bean & Kale Stuffed Acorn Squash

Holiday season around my apartment the past few years has typically meant sitting around binge-watching Christmas movies and shoveling homemade snacks, candies, & cookies into our gaping maws by the fistful. This year has been no different. Why my grandmother sends me enough holiday goodies for a family of five is beyond me, but my friends and boyfriend really appreciate it. Okay, I do too, even if my waistline doesn’t.* On top of my treats, add my roommate’s mother’s amazing home-baked goodies and you get a bona-fide hot bed of sugary, holiday goodness.

So today I needed a break. The beautiful weather outside reminded me that I’ve got a bathing-suit type vacation quickly approaching, teeth that are starting to get achy, and acorn squash piling up on my counter. I still have soup fatigue and wanted a quick, attractive lunch – this came together in 30 minutes so it fit the bill perfectly.

It’s amazing flying solo, but would also be a beautiful addition to your holiday table, and can be vegan or vegetarian if you remove the very small amount of chorizo & cheese I chose to include.

Black Bean & Kale Stuffed Squash

Black Bean & Kale Stuffed Acorn Squash

1 acorn squash, seeded and cut into rings
1 can black beans, drained & rinsed
1 bunch Kale, stemmed and torn into bite sized pieces
Juice of 2 limes
1 orange, peeled and segmented
2 aji dulce peppers, or half a red bell pepper, diced
1/4 white onion, thinly sliced
1 link chorizo, cubed (optional)
Olive oil
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp cinnamon
Cilantro
Queso fresco or feta cheese (optional)
Pepitas
Salt

Heat oven, with sheet pan inside, to 350*F. Toss squash rings with olive oil, salt to taste, cumin & cinnamon. Cook for 25 minutes.

While squash is cooking, in the same bowl you used for the squash, toss kale and onion with lime juice and salt to taste. Set aside and cook the chorizo until nicely browned.

Just before the squash is done, add the black beans, orange segments, peppers, & chorizo to the kale.

To plate, place one squash ring in the center and pile the center up with the kale salad, top with cilantro, cheese, & pepitas.

 

 

*Hi Grandma, if you’re reading, please don’t stop sending the treats, I’m not complaining

Leave a Reply

