Spicy Scallop & Butternut Squash Stew

You guys I have to come clean. Despite the bravado in my ‘About Me’ page regarding not caring about food styling, I do care. I really, really do. And sometimes that prevents me from sharing really great recipes, which is such a bummer. Some foods just aren’t photogenic. Sometimes the light in my apartment is just too atrocious. This was one of those recipes.

I made this stew ages ago, before Christmas even. I was having a bad couple of days and just threw myself into my cooking. One of my favorite things to distract myself is cooking and this stew came out really great, so I’ve decided to share it with you, bad photo and all. Just trust me that it tasted better than it photographed, and please feel free to share stew-photographing tips in the comments.

The first night I served this with awesome, crusty garlic bread, and the next nice I put it over some short grain rice. Both were totally delicious. You could also throw in some clams or mussels, or if you want to be super fancy some sea bass would be a dreamy addition.

Unlike my last post, this one actually is quite healthy & resolution friendly. Eventually I’ll post some smoothie recipes or something. Maybe. We’ll see.

Scallop & Butternut Squash Stew

Spicy Scallop & Butternut Squash Stew
serves 4

1/2 onion, diced
1/2 butternut squash, peeled, seeded, & diced
2 stalks celery, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
16 oz. can of great tomato sauce – I used a local brand, Nonna’s, in their super spicy variation, made for the Feast of Seven Fishes (a Catholic holiday thing)
1 sprig fresh oregano, chopped
3 cups vegetable stock
3/4 lb scallops
1 glug dry white wine
2 Tbsp butter, plus some olive oil
salt + pepper to taste
parsley to garnish

In a large pot over medium heat, melt the butter with some olive oil and sauté the onion, squash, & celery until they become fragrant and start to soften. Season with salt & pepper. Add garlic and cook for another minute or so. Add wine & cook until mostly evaporated. Add oregano, tomato sauce, & stock. Bring to a simmer and cook for about 20 minutes, until squash is cooked through and flavors have come together. Add the scallops and let cook for another 5 minutes. Seriously, scallops cook in no time at all, watch them closely. Ladle into bowls and top with a bit of chopped parsley.

And that’s it! This recipe is crazy easy and delicious. Squash and scallops. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

